Law (CSM)

The library does not just subscribe to books and journals, we also have access to a wide variety of databases for your area of study or research. The word 'database' means electronic sources of information, which includes ejournal and ebook collections, images, market reports, statistics, video lectures, and more.

Our Databases A-Z is an alphabetical list of all of our databases. Feel free to scroll through the whole list, or click a letter to jump to database names beginning with that letter. For more information, see our dedicated guide to Using the Databases A-Z.

Alternatively you can also search for databases by name, by subject or by type of information covered.

Alongside each database, there are labels denoting what type of database it is and also icons highlighting features, such as accessibility, eTraining, companion mobile apps, or whether additional registration is required.

Please contact us if you need any help with getting access to a database or would like to know more about it.

Ejournals

• Cambridge Core has law subjects crossing books and journals in international law, human rights and transitional justice, transnational and comparative law, jurisprudence, and legal history. They also publish titles with an inter-disciplinary and socio-legal approach.
• Criminal Justice Database supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
• HeinOnline contains the full text of more than 3,000 law and law-related journals, access to U.S. federal and state case law, thousands of classic legal treatises, and a wealth of government publications.
• JSTOR contains journals, images and primary sources from the arts, business and economics, humanities, law, medicine, science, and the social sciences.
• Taylor & Francis Journals cover Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics and Social Sciences.

Referencing

• Cite Them Right is an online tool teaching correct referencing and how to avoid plagiarism.

News

• European Newsstream covers the most recent news content from the UK and Europe, including The Guardian, The Times, newswires, journals and websites.

Video and Audio

• Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education.
• Sage Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills provides videos explaining the essential skills needed to complete research, including writing proposals, designing projects, and securing ethical approval.

Law

• British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) is committed to providing free access to the law for all.
• Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
• Law Trove provides access to nearly two hundred law and criminology textbooks published by Oxford University Press (OUP).
• Lexis+ UK is a UK legal research database including cases, legislation, journal articles, commentary and practitioner texts.
• Lexis Practical Guidance provides a wealth of legal resources, including practice notes, forms, and checklists, designed to guide legal procedures.
• Westlaw UK provides access to case law, legislation, journal articles, commentary, news and ebooks.

Statistics and Data

• Statista is good for global data and business intelligence with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, insights and infographics.

Research

• SAGE Research Methods Foundations is an introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to a particular method.
• Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, covering the following fields of research: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.