Finding & Using Sources - Key Learning Points - Finding & Using Sources - Library Services at Cardiff Metropolitan University

summarize Quick Reference

Finding & Evaluating Sources
Research Essentials

Essential skills for academic research excellence and information literacy

info The foundational practice of all academic research - a systematic process that transforms you from a student into a researcher by building assignments on credible, high-quality evidence.

Core Research Concepts

Finding Sources

Strategic search for relevant information using specialized academic tools, moving beyond Google to library databases and subject-specific resources

Evaluating Sources

Critical assessment of information suitability for academic work, examining reliability, authority, and appropriateness using structured criteria

Academic Databases

Specialized online collections of scholarly materials organized for academic research, including journal articles, conference papers, and research reports

Peer-Reviewed Sources

Academic work evaluated and approved by experts in the field before publication, ensuring quality and credibility - the gold standard for academic research

Information Literacy

The ability to find, evaluate, and use information effectively and ethically - a core competency for academic success and professional practice

Boolean Operators

Terms such as AND, OR, and NOT used in database searches to combine or exclude keywords and refine search results effectively

workspace_premium

Benefits of Mastering Research Skills

Academic Excellence

check_circle Higher grades through quality sources
check_circle Academic authority and credible arguments
check_circle Improved degree classification outcomes
check_circle Meeting marking criteria expectations

Enhanced Learning

check_circle Deeper understanding through quality material
check_circle Critical analysis and healthy skepticism
check_circle Exposure to cutting-edge research
check_circle Ability to distinguish fact from misinformation

Career Readiness

check_circle Intellectual independence for any topic
check_circle Evidence-based professional practice
check_circle Essential skills for information age
check_circle Core competency for career success

manage_search

Strategic Research Process

Start with Library Search

Use discovery tools like Primo or MetSearch as your gateway to academic sources

Search across books, e-books, and journal articles simultaneously
Get overview of topics and identify key themes
Find prominent authors and essential readings
Utilize reference management integration

arrow_downward

Develop Smart Search Terms

Use keywords and Boolean operators to refine searches effectively

Use quotation marks for exact phrases
Combine terms with AND, OR, NOT operators
Example: ("social media" OR "Facebook") AND ("mental health")
Refine with filters for date, source type, peer-review

arrow_downward

Use Specialized Databases

Access subject-specific databases for in-depth scholarly research

PsycINFO for Psychology research
Business Source Premier for Business studies
JSTOR for humanities and social sciences
Web of Science for citation tracking

fact_check

Source Evaluation Methods

assignment_turned_in

CRAAP Test

fiber_manual_record Currency: When was information published/updated?
fiber_manual_record Relevancy: Does it relate to your research question?
fiber_manual_record Authority: Who is the author and their credentials?
fiber_manual_record Accuracy: Is information supported by evidence?
fiber_manual_record Purpose: What's the motivation behind publication?

radar

RADAR Method

fiber_manual_record Rationale: What motivates the content and purpose?
fiber_manual_record Authority: Experience, expertise, and specialist knowledge
fiber_manual_record Date: Currency considering field progression speed
fiber_manual_record Accuracy: Foundation for credibility and integrity
fiber_manual_record Relevance: Alignment with subject matter at hand

library_books

Types of Academic Sources

person

Influential Authors & Significant Books

Important authors making contributions to academic knowledge and publications that have left an indelible mark within fields - recognizable from regular citations

article

Edited Volumes & Journal Articles

Books with chapters by different prominent authors and peer-reviewed articles - the gold standard checked and approved by experts before publication

business

Industry Publications & Encyclopedias

Professional publications for contemporary issues and real-world applications, plus subject-specific encyclopedias for reliable overviews of theories and methodologies

help

Common Challenges & Solutions

info

Information Overload

Problem: Broad searches return millions of results. Solution: Refine using specific keywords, Boolean operators, and filter options (date, source type, peer-review)

block

Paywalls and Access Issues

Problem: Hitting paywalls on open web. Solution: Never pay! Start searches from library website or use browser extension - university subscriptions provide free access

verified

Identifying 'Good' Sources

Problem: Uncertainty about scholarly source quality. Solution: Peer-reviewed journal articles are gold standard - use database checkboxes to limit to peer-reviewed content

school

Research Practice Outcomes

psychology

Critical Thinking Development

Transforms you from passive consumer to active, critical thinker - the ultimate goal of university education with sophisticated argument construction abilities

trending_up

Academic Performance Enhancement

Direct path to higher grades through sophisticated arguments, better-written assignments, and strong evidence bases that meet marking criteria expectations

auto_awesome

Lifelong Information Literacy

Critical capability to assess sources, identify bias, and make well-informed judgments in a world saturated with information and misinformation