Skip to Main Content

Library Services

Architectural Design Technology (CSAD)

Databases

The library does not just subscribe to books and journals, we also have access to a wide variety of databases for your area of study or research. The word 'database' means electronic sources of information, which includes ejournal and ebook collections, images, market reports, statistics, video lectures, and more.

How to use the Databases A-Z

Our Databases A-Z is an alphabetical list of all of our databases. Feel free to scroll through the whole list, or click a letter to jump to database names beginning with that letter. For more information, see our dedicated guide to Using the Databases A-Z.



Alternatively you can also search for databases by name, by subject or by type of information covered.

Icons

Alongside each database, there are labels denoting what type of database it is and also icons highlighting features, such as accessibility, eTraining, companion mobile apps, or whether additional registration is required.

Please contact us if you need any help with getting access to a database or would like to know more about it.

Recommended Databases

Ejournals
  • Art Full Text includes fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
  • Arts & Humanities Database covers art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre and cultural studies.
  • JSTOR contains journals, images and primary sources from the arts, business and economics, humanities, law, medicine, science, and the social sciences.
  • Taylor & Francis Journals cover Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics and Social Sciences.
Referencing
  • Cite Them Right is an online tool teaching correct referencing and how to avoid plagiarism.
Images
  • Art & Architecture Archive is a full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first covering fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
  • Bridgeman Education provides digital images sourced from the world’s leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections.

Construction
  • Construction Information Service (CIS) is an expert knowledge tool that delivers key technical information critical to all construction projects in one online package. Registration required with Cardiff Met email address.
Statistics and Data
  • British Standards Online (BSOL) is the authoritative and most current source of standards from BSI. Your device needs to have FileOpen plug-in installed to access documents within BSOL platform.
  • DigiMap is online map and data delivery service. Digimap offers a number of collections, including Ordnance Survey, historical, geological, LiDAR and marine maps and spatial data.
  • Statista is good for global data and business intelligence with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, insights and infographics.
Sustainability and Research
  • GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.
Science and Technology
  • ScienceDirect is extensive scholarly database providing peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature.