Skip to Main Content

Library Services

Animation (CSAD)

Databases

The library does not just subscribe to books and journals, we also have access to a wide variety of databases for your area of study or research. The word 'database' means electronic sources of information, which includes ejournal and ebook collections, images, market reports, statistics, video lectures, and more.

How to use the Databases A-Z

Our Databases A-Z is an alphabetical list of all of our databases. Feel free to scroll through the whole list, or click a letter to jump to database names beginning with that letter. For more information, see our dedicated guide to Using the Databases A-Z.



Alternatively you can also search for databases by name, by subject or by type of information covered.

Icons

Alongside each database, there are labels denoting what type of database it is and also icons highlighting features, such as accessibility, eTraining, companion mobile apps, or whether additional registration is required.

Please contact us if you need any help with getting access to a database or would like to know more about it.

Recommended Databases

Ejournals
  • Art Full Text includes fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
  • Arts and Humanities Database covers art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre and cultural studies.
  • Taylor & Francis Journals cover Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics and Social Sciences.
Referencing
  • Cite Them Right is an online tool teaching correct referencing and how to avoid plagiarism.
News
  • European Newsstream covers the most recent news content from the UK and Europe, including The Guardian, The Times, newswires, journals and websites.
Images, Video and Audio
  • Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education.
  • Bridgeman Education provides digital images sourced from the world’s leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections.
  • British Cartoon Archive has digitised the Carl Giles Digital Archive, the most important archive of British newspaper cartoons and a key resource for British political and social history.
  • John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera is invaluable for studying the development of printing and visual culture in modern Britain. This collection includes entertainment posters, popular topographical prints and advertising material from 18th, 19th and 20th century in full-colour, high resolution facsimile.
  • JSTOR contains journals, images and primary sources from the arts, business and economics, humanities, law, medicine, science, and the social sciences.
  • Sage Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills provides videos explaining the essential skills needed to complete research, including writing proposals, designing projects, and securing ethical approval.
Computer Science and Electronics
  • ACM Digital Library focuses on computer science topics from the Association of Computing Machinery.
  • IEEE Xplore is a good source in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Statistics and Data
  • Mintel includes UK market reports, analysis, data and news on industries, products, brands and companies.
  • Statista is good for global data and business intelligence with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, insights and infographics.
Research