Skip to Main Content

Library Services

Computer Security (CST)

Databases

The library does not just subscribe to books and journals, we also have access to a wide variety of databases for your area of study or research. The word 'database' means electronic sources of information, which includes ejournal and ebook collections, images, market reports, statistics, video lectures, and more.

How to use the Databases A-Z

Our Databases A-Z is an alphabetical list of all of our databases. Feel free to scroll through the whole list, or click a letter to jump to database names beginning with that letter. For more information, see our dedicated guide to Using the Databases A-Z.



Alternatively you can also search for databases by name, by subject or by type of information covered.

Icons

Alongside each database, there are labels denoting what type of database it is and also icons highlighting features, such as accessibility, eTraining, companion mobile apps, or whether additional registration is required.

Please contact us if you need any help with getting access to a database or would like to know more about it.

Recommended Databases

Ejournals
  • ACM Digital Library focuses on computer science topics from the Association of Computing Machinery.
  • Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database including academic journals, magazines, and trade publications
  • Emerald Insight includes full-text articles and abstracts covering a range of subjects within business, management and computing,
  • IEEE Xplore provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
  • Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) includes journal articles on bibliometrics, information retrieval, information management, search engines and information sources.
Referencing
  • Cite Them Right is an online tool teaching correct referencing and how to avoid plagiarism.
News
  • European Newsstream covers the most recent news content from the UK and Europe, including The Guardian, The Times, newswires, journals and websites.
  • Financial Times provides the latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis.
Video and Audio
  • Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education.
  • HS Talks is a collection of video lectures and case studies by experts from commerce, industry and academia.
  • O'Reilly provides a digital library of ebooks and videos covering IT and topics such as computing, programming, design, software development, e-commerce, project management and engineering.
  • Sage Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills provides videos explaining the essential skills needed to complete research, including writing proposals, designing projects, and securing ethical approval.
Statistics and Data
  • Mintel includes UK market reports, analysis, data and news on industries, products, brands and companies.
  • Statista is good for global data and business intelligence with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, insights and infographics.
Research
  • Sage Research Methods Foundations is an introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to a particular method.
  • Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, covering the following fields of research: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.