Ceramics (CSAD)

The library does not just subscribe to books and journals, we also have access to a wide variety of databases for your area of study or research. The word 'database' means electronic sources of information, which includes ejournal and ebook collections, images, market reports, statistics, video lectures, and more.

Our Databases A-Z is an alphabetical list of all of our databases. Feel free to scroll through the whole list, or click a letter to jump to database names beginning with that letter. For more information, see our dedicated guide to Using the Databases A-Z.

Alternatively you can also search for databases by name, by subject or by type of information covered.

Alongside each database, there are labels denoting what type of database it is and also icons highlighting features, such as accessibility, eTraining, companion mobile apps, or whether additional registration is required.

Please contact us if you need any help with getting access to a database or would like to know more about it.

Ejournals

• a-n (Artists Newsletter contains full text access to a-n published titles including a-n collections, research papers and good practice publications. Also searchable online archive for a-n Magazine.
• Art Full Text includes fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
• Arts and Humanities Database covers art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre and cultural studies.
• Cambridge Core offers a full text access to many books and journals published by Cambridge University Press.
• Design and Applied Arts Index provides abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
• Oxford University Press Journals (OUP) offers a full text access to many books and journals published by Cambridge University Press.
• Science Direct is an extensive scholarly database providing peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature.
• Taylor & Francis Journals cover Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics and Social Sciences.

Referencing

• Cite Them Right is an online tool teaching correct referencing and how to avoid plagiarism.

News

• European Newsstream covers the most recent news content from the UK and Europe, including The Guardian, The Times, newswires, journals and websites.

Images, Video and Audio

• Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education.
• Bridgeman Education provides digital images sourced from the world’s leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections.
• CFile is a global community of ceramics creatives founded in 2013 to provide an expanded ceramic field - art, design, architecture and technology.
• JSTOR contains journals, images and primary sources from the arts, business and economics, humanities, law, medicine, science, and the social sciences.
• Sage Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills provides videos explaining the essential skills needed to complete research, including writing proposals, designing projects, and securing ethical approval.

Statistics and Data

• Mintel includes UK market reports, analysis, data and news on industries, products, brands and companies.
• Statista is good for global data and business intelligence with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, insights and infographics.
• Worth Global Style Network (WGSN) is a consumer trend forecaster offering research, style analysis and news to the fashion, retail and design industries.

Research

• Sage Research Methods Foundations is an introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to a particular method.