If you’re new to Cardiff Metropolitan, simply bring your MetCard to Llandaff or Cyncoed Learning Centre to start borrowing. You may borrow up to 30 physical items at any one time. See Borrowing and Requesting for more information.
In addition to print books and eBooks, our libraries hold print and electronic journals. Our print journals are reference only.
Use MetSearch, the Library Service’s discovery tool to:
Though not a substitute for a thorough literature search, MetSearch streamlines searching across a number of our full text, abstracting and indexing databases. If you’d like advice on maximising your use of MetSearch, please speak with one of our academic librarians.
Both Llandaff and Cyncoed Libraries hold special collections in support of learning, teaching and research.
Staff and students enjoy access to a variety of study spaces in our Cyncoed and Llandaff Libraries, including group study rooms exclusively for student use. You’ll also find networked PCs and Macs, alongside multifunction devices for your printing, photocopying and scanning needs.
Books, journal articles, conference papers and other material not held in Cardiff Metropolitan, which you require in support of your research, may be requested via our Interlibrary loan service
Books not held in the University’s libraries, which are required for teaching, must be requested by creating a module reading list using Leganto. Digitisations of articles in journals to which we do not subscribe, and which you include on a module reading list, must also be requested using Leganto. The Library Service also offers a digitisation service for book chapters on your reading lists. Using Leganto for your digitisation ensures the University complies with its Copyright Licensing Agency licence and does not infringe copyright legislation.
Books not held in the University’s libraries, which you deem relevant and valuable additions to our collection, but which are not used in teaching, should be requested either by emailing LibraryAcademicServices@cardiffmet.ac.uk or by completing the Purchase Request form on MetSearch. If you wish to recommend a new journal subscription, please email LibraryAcademicServices@cardiffmet.ac.uk with evidence of how the subscription will support the University’s learning, teaching and research.
SCONUL Access is a reciprocal borrowing scheme, allowing Cardiff Met academic and support staff, research postgraduates, full-time taught postgraduates, and part-time, distance learning and placement undergraduates to borrow from most university libraries in the UK and Ireland. You must register with the SCONUL Access scheme in advance of attending another university library.
The Library Service offers access to full text, abstracting and indexing databases containing journal articles and conference papers, plus access to image and video databases, databases of statistical and mapping data, market reports, British Standards, financial data, newspapers and much more. These databases are listed both alphabetically and by discipline on our Databases A-Z, and most are also accessible via MetSearch.
For assistance in locating and in using the full functionality of these resources, including creating search and citation alerts relevant to your research, please speak with one of our academic librarians.
The Library Service provides tools, including Browzine, Lean Library and LibKey Nomad, which facilitate access to our electronic resources.
For more information see Discovery@CardiffMet on the Library Services website.
Cardiff Metropolitan supports the use of Endnote and Zotero reference management tools to store and manage your bibliographic references and pdfs of articles and to automate adding citations to your documents. MetSearch includes a My Favourites function, for basic reference storage and generation. Attend an EndNote or Zotero workshop or speak with one of our academic librarians if you are unfamiliar with any these tools.
We offer specialist support for researchers in conducting literature reviews, optimising your use of figshare, the University’s research repository, open access publishing and harnessing research-related technology.
Timetabling a library induction guarantees your students know where and how to find key information in support of their learning. Depending on your preference and library staff availability, we are able to offer an interactive presentation within your school and/or tours of the Cyncoed or Llandaff Libraries. Please email LibraryAcademicServices@cardiffmet.ac.uk with your requests.
Empower your students with information literacy skills, skills which underpin their learning. Our academic librarians offer training in how to discover, access, evaluate and organise information effectively, giving students the competencies and confidence to succeed.
We have a programme of multi-disciplinary workshops in the autumn and spring terms. The workshops are widely advertised, and your encouragement for students to attend is welcomed. Our academic librarians may also be available to offer subject-specific workshops, embedded within your timetable and aligned with your curriculum. Please email LibraryAcademicServices@cardiffmet.ac.uk with any such requests.
