English and Creative Writing (CSESP)

The library does not just subscribe to books and journals, we also have access to a wide variety of databases for your area of study or research. The word 'database' means electronic sources of information, which includes ejournal and ebook collections, images, market reports, statistics, video lectures, and more.

Our Databases A-Z is an alphabetical list of all of our databases. Feel free to scroll through the whole list, or click a letter to jump to database names beginning with that letter. For more information, see our dedicated guide to Using the Databases A-Z.

Alternatively you can also search for databases by name, by subject or by type of information covered.

Alongside each database, there are labels denoting what type of database it is and also icons highlighting features, such as accessibility, eTraining, companion mobile apps, or whether additional registration is required.

Please contact us if you need any help with getting access to a database or would like to know more about it.

Ejournals

• Arts & Humanities Database covers art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre and cultural studies.
• Drama Online is a research tool for drama and literature combining playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
• JSTOR contains journals, images and primary sources from the arts, business and economics, humanities, law, medicine, science, and the social sciences.
• ProQuest One Literature covers primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more.

Referencing

• Cite Them Right is an online tool teaching correct referencing and how to avoid plagiarism.

News

• European Newsstream covers the most recent news content from the UK and Europe, including The Guardian, The Times, newswires, journals and websites.
• Times Digital Archive includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.

Video and Audio

• BBC Shakespeare Archive has over 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets.
• Box of Broadcasts is an on demand TV and radio service for education.
• Sage Research Methods Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills provides the essential skills needed to complete research, including writing proposals, designing projects, and securing ethical approval.
• Teacher's TV is good for instructional videos featuring engaging and practical in-classroom demonstrations and commentary.

Statistics and Data

• Statista is good for global data and business intelligence with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, insights and infographics.

Dictionaries

• Literary Encyclopedia is a reference resource that provides detailed profiles of authors and texts, and basic knowledge on their cultural contexts.

Research

• Sage Research Methods Foundations is an introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to a particular method.
• Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, covering the following fields of research: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.